Person profile

Public information reviewed
Portrait of Joia M. Johnson

Joia M. Johnson

Board role

Director · Brown & Brown (NYSE: BRO)

Board role

Independent Director · Regions Financial Corporation (NYSE: RF-PF)

Board role

Director · Sylvamo Corp (NYSE: SLVM)

Board role

Independent Director · Global Payments (NYSE: GPN)

Brown & Brown (NYSE: BRO)

Director · Current mandate

Director · Board · Executive
Public sources
13 reviewed
Profile ownership
Not yet claimed
Last reviewed
Sep 13, 2026
View sources

Profile

Identity, professional record and current appointments.

Overview

Professional record at a glance

A concise summary of information supported by the cited public sources. Missing information is treated as unknown, not as a negative finding.

Current roles
44 current organizations shown on this profile
Board positions
44 supported by public sources, 0 supplied by the profile owner
Committee roles
2Roles supported by the sources cited on this profile
Qualifications
Not establishedNo qualification is currently confirmed by the cited sources

Professional narrative

About

Joia M. Johnson retired from Hanesbrands Inc. in 2021, most recently serving as Chief Administrative Officer from 2016 to 2021 and as Chief Legal Officer, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary from 2007 to 2021. She has served on the Boards of Global Payments Inc., Sylvamo Corporation, and Regions Financial Corp.

Sources are shown with the information they support.

Current roles

Appointments & responsibilities

Board appointments

Governance

Board appointments, committee responsibilities and disclosed relationships.

Board and advisory record

Board service

Sources are shown with each role, education record, or credential.

Director

Brown & Brown

2026-03-24 · current

Confirmed by public sourceView source

Director

Sylvamo Corp

2021-01-01 · current

Confirmed by public sourceView source

Independent Director

Regions Financial Corporation

2021-01-01 · current

Confirmed by public sourceView source

Independent Director

Global Payments

Current · start date not disclosed

Confirmed by public sourceView source

Connections

Explore the roles, education and affiliations published in this record.

Brown & Brown

Open Brown & Brown profile →

Director at Brown & Brown

2026-03-24 → End not stated

current · source reported

Observed: 2026-09-21

Brown & BrownBrown & BrownGlobal PaymentsGlobal PaymentsRegions Financial …Regions Financial CorporationSylvamo CorpSylvamo CorpJoia M. Johnson

Dashed lines mark past roles. Select a connection to see its dates and sources.

Relationship map

Connected through the public record

Direct relationships from verified facts and published résumé records. Private connections are excluded.

Direct public links only

Only published affiliations are shown here. Private relationships require authorized access.

Experience

Career history, education, credentials and public contributions.

Basis

Identifiers, sources, dates and record limitations.

Identifiers

Alpha ID
alpha:person:joia-m-johnson
Record version
public-0

Sources

Sources and published information

Each item links to the public source used to support it. When sources disagree, the item is clearly marked for review.

AI and ML experience · CorroboratedAI and ML experience: not identified in the cited filingSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
72%
Last reviewed
May 16, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 5, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 16, 2026

Board independence · CorroboratedIndependent directorSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

Board membership · CorroboratedServes on the board of Brown & BrownSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
Board membership · CorroboratedServes on the board of Global Payments Inc.Supported by 3 public records3 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
Board membership · CorroboratedServes on the board of Regions Financial CorporationSupported by 3 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
Board membership · CorroboratedServes on the board of Sylvamo CorpSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
Board role · CorroboratedBoard role: DirectorSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
92%
Last reviewed
May 16, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 16, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

Committee assignments · CorroboratedNo committee assignment disclosed in the cited filingSupported by 3 public records3 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 16, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 16, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

Committee assignments · Source reportedCommittee assignments: Compensation, Governance/Nominating1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
88%
Last reviewed
May 15, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

Cybersecurity experience · CorroboratedCybersecurity experience: not identified in the cited filingSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
72%
Last reviewed
May 16, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 5, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 16, 2026

Executive company · Source reportedExecutive at Sylvamo Corp1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
94%
Last reviewed
May 5, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 5, 2026

Executive title · Source reportedExecutive title: Director1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
94%
Last reviewed
May 5, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 5, 2026

Other Company Role · Source reportedJoia M. Johnson is also linked to Global Payments Inc., Brown & Brown Inc., and Regions Financial Corp. as Director.1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
70%
Last reviewed
May 5, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 5, 2026

Technology background · CorroboratedTechnology background: not identified in the cited filingSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
72%
Last reviewed
May 16, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 5, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 16, 2026

View all sources13 records
  1. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 5, 2026

    Supports: AI and ML experience · Cybersecurity experience · Executive company · Executive title · Other Company Role · Technology background

  2. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1856485/000119312526138839/d944522ddef14a.htm

    Sec Proxy · Tier not stated · Reviewed Sep 2, 2026

    Supports: Director at Sylvamo Corp (NYSE: SLVM)

  3. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 16, 2026

    Supports: AI and ML experience · Board role · Committee assignments · Cybersecurity experience · Technology background

  4. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/79282/000119312526122172/d30704ddef14a.htm

    Sec Filing · Tier not stated · Reviewed May 16, 2026

    Supports: Director at Brown & Brown (NYSE: BRO)

  5. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

    Supports: Board membership · Committee assignments · Director since · Board independence

  6. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0001281761/000128176126000027/rf-20260323.htm

    Sec Proxy · Tier not stated · Reviewed Mar 25, 2026

    Supports: Independent Director at Regions Financial Corporation (NYSE: RF-PF)

  7. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

    Supports: Board membership · Committee assignments · Board independence

  8. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

    Supports: Board role · Committee assignments

  9. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1123360/000110465926029453/tm261348-1_def14a.htm

    Sec Proxy · Tier not stated · Reviewed Mar 23, 2026

    Supports: Independent Director at Global Payments (NYSE: GPN)

  10. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/79282/000119312526122172/d30704ddef14a.htm

    Public Source · Tier not stated · Reviewed Not stated

    Supports: Board membership

  11. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1856485/000119312526138839/d944522ddef14a.htm

    Public Source · Tier not stated · Reviewed Not stated

    Supports: Board membership

  12. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0001281761/000128176126000027/rf-20260323.htm

    Public Source · Tier not stated · Reviewed Not stated

    Supports: Board membership

  13. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1123360/000110465926029453/tm261348-1_def14a.htm

    Public Source · Tier not stated · Reviewed Not stated

    Supports: Board membership