{"schema_version":"alpha-profile-public-v1","slug":"john-e-bethancourt","canonical_url":"https://registry.alpha.ac/people/john-e-bethancourt","as_of":"2026-09-21T10:16:33.196778+00:00","published_at":"2026-04-21T02:55:15.270549+00:00","last_reviewed_at":"2026-05-15T19:33:43.179+00:00","identity":{"display_name":"John E. Bethancourt","headshot_url":null,"headshot_media":null,"profile_kind":"director","role_tags":["director","board"],"current_role":{"company_name":"Devon Energy","company_slug":"devon-energy-corp-de","exchange":"NYSE","ticker":"DVN","role_category":"director","title":"Director","committee":null,"is_board_chair":false,"is_independent":null,"valid_from":null,"valid_to":null,"is_current":true,"verification_status":"confirmed","confidence":0.95,"evidence":{"source_type":"sec_filing","source_url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1090012/000110465925037545/tm252204-6_def14a.htm","effective_date":"2025-04-23","last_checked_at":"2026-05-03T01:47:45.30941+00:00"}},"photo_match":null},"assurance":{"is_claimed":false,"status":"unverified","assurance_level":null,"method":null,"verified_at":null,"expires_at":null},"claiming":{"eligible":true,"label":"Is this you? Claim your Alpha Profile","claim_url":"https://terminal.alpha.ac/claim-profile?person=john-e-bethancourt","suggest_edit_label":"Suggest an edit","suggest_edit_url":"https://terminal.alpha.ac/claim-profile?person=john-e-bethancourt&mode=suggest","canonical_record_will_be_reused":true,"canonical_facts_owner_controlled":false},"presentation":{"schema_version":"alpha-profile-presentation-v1","state":"alpha_editorial","version":0,"published_at":null,"headline":null,"headline_evidence":null,"location":null,"photo":null,"cover":null,"about":["Retired Chevron executive who served as executive vice president for technology and services, overseeing environmental, health and safety efforts, major project management, procurement and mining operations. Began career with Getty Oil in 1974 and joined Texaco through 1984 merger. Earned bachelor's degree in petroleum engineering from Texas A&M University."],"links":[],"sources":[],"featured":[],"competencies":[],"board_preferences":null,"board_service":[{"organization":"Devon Energy","organizationId":"devon-energy-corp-de","title":"Director","period":"Current · start date not disclosed","evidenceLabel":"sec_filing","evidenceState":"verified","sourceUrl":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1090012/000110465925037545/tm252204-6_def14a.htm"}],"experience":[],"education":[],"credentials":[],"section_order":null,"hidden_sections":[],"limitations":["Presentation fields do not alter independently verified Alpha Profile facts.","Owner-supplied résumé records retain their field-level evidence state.","Only confirmed company_person_roles with public evidence. Website governed_site_fallback rows are not invented. about/links are stored people.profile_summary/bio and linkedin_url only. Dates stay undisclosed when the role has no start_date. SoFi Bank is not SoFi Technologies."]},"presentation_authority":"confirmed_company_person_roles","roles":[{"company_name":"Devon Energy","company_slug":"devon-energy-corp-de","exchange":"NYSE","ticker":"DVN","role_category":"director","title":"Director","committee":null,"is_board_chair":false,"is_independent":null,"valid_from":null,"valid_to":null,"is_current":true,"verification_status":"confirmed","confidence":0.95,"evidence":{"source_type":"sec_filing","source_url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1090012/000110465925037545/tm252204-6_def14a.htm","effective_date":"2025-04-23","last_checked_at":"2026-05-03T01:47:45.30941+00:00"}}],"claims":[{"claim_type":"ai_ml_experience","claim_value":false,"claim_text":"Proxy extraction classified AI/ML experience for John E. Bethancourt as false.","claim_state":"verified","valid_from":null,"valid_to":null,"confidence":0.72,"source_tier":3,"verification_status":"confirmed","last_reviewed_at":"2026-05-15T19:33:43.346931+00:00","version":1,"evidence":[{"source_name":"SEC EDGAR","document_title":"DVN DEF 14A director slate","source_type":"sec_filing","source_tier":3,"source_url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1090012/000110465925037545/tm252204-6_def14a.htm","published_at":"2025-04-23T00:00:00+00:00","last_checked_at":"2026-05-15T19:33:43.241466+00:00","relation":"supports","excerpt_locator":null}]},{"claim_type":"board_membership","claim_value":{"ticker":"DVN","role_type":"Director","organization":"Devon Energy Corporation"},"claim_text":"Serves on the board of Devon Energy Corporation as Director.","claim_state":"verified","valid_from":null,"valid_to":null,"confidence":0.95,"source_tier":3,"verification_status":"confirmed","last_reviewed_at":"2026-05-03T01:56:43.535552+00:00","version":1,"evidence":[{"source_name":"SEC EDGAR","document_title":"Devon Energy Corporation director board source","source_type":"sec_filing","source_tier":3,"source_url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1090012/000110465925037545/tm252204-6_def14a.htm","published_at":"2025-04-23T00:00:00+00:00","last_checked_at":"2026-05-03T01:47:45.30941+00:00","relation":"supports","excerpt_locator":null}]},{"claim_type":"board_role","claim_value":"Chair","claim_text":"John E. Bethancourt currently serves as Chair at Devon Energy Corporation.","claim_state":"verified","valid_from":"2025-04-23","valid_to":null,"confidence":0.92,"source_tier":3,"verification_status":"confirmed","last_reviewed_at":"2026-05-15T19:33:43.310967+00:00","version":1,"evidence":[{"source_name":"SEC EDGAR","document_title":"DVN DEF 14A director slate","source_type":"sec_filing","source_tier":3,"source_url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1090012/000110465925037545/tm252204-6_def14a.htm","published_at":"2025-04-23T00:00:00+00:00","last_checked_at":"2026-05-15T19:33:43.241466+00:00","relation":"supports","excerpt_locator":null}]},{"claim_type":"committee_assignments","claim_value":["Dividend"],"claim_text":"John E. Bethancourt serves on Dividend.","claim_state":"verified","valid_from":"2025-04-23","valid_to":null,"confidence":0.88,"source_tier":3,"verification_status":"confirmed","last_reviewed_at":"2026-05-15T19:33:43.330631+00:00","version":1,"evidence":[{"source_name":"SEC EDGAR","document_title":"DVN DEF 14A director slate","source_type":"sec_filing","source_tier":3,"source_url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1090012/000110465925037545/tm252204-6_def14a.htm","published_at":"2025-04-23T00:00:00+00:00","last_checked_at":"2026-05-15T19:33:43.241466+00:00","relation":"supports","excerpt_locator":null}]},{"claim_type":"cybersecurity_experience","claim_value":false,"claim_text":"Proxy extraction classified cybersecurity experience for John E. Bethancourt as false.","claim_state":"verified","valid_from":null,"valid_to":null,"confidence":0.72,"source_tier":3,"verification_status":"confirmed","last_reviewed_at":"2026-05-15T19:33:43.380102+00:00","version":1,"evidence":[{"source_name":"SEC EDGAR","document_title":"DVN DEF 14A director slate","source_type":"sec_filing","source_tier":3,"source_url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1090012/000110465925037545/tm252204-6_def14a.htm","published_at":"2025-04-23T00:00:00+00:00","last_checked_at":"2026-05-15T19:33:43.241466+00:00","relation":"supports","excerpt_locator":null}]},{"claim_type":"independence_status","claim_value":{"is_independent":true},"claim_text":"Board independence status at Devon Energy Corporation: True.","claim_state":"verified","valid_from":null,"valid_to":null,"confidence":0.95,"source_tier":3,"verification_status":"confirmed","last_reviewed_at":"2026-05-03T01:56:43.535552+00:00","version":1,"evidence":[{"source_name":"SEC EDGAR","document_title":"Devon Energy Corporation director board source","source_type":"sec_filing","source_tier":3,"source_url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1090012/000110465925037545/tm252204-6_def14a.htm","published_at":"2025-04-23T00:00:00+00:00","last_checked_at":"2026-05-03T01:47:45.30941+00:00","relation":"supports","excerpt_locator":null}]},{"claim_type":"technology_background","claim_value":true,"claim_text":"Proxy extraction classified technology background for John E. Bethancourt as true.","claim_state":"verified","valid_from":null,"valid_to":null,"confidence":0.72,"source_tier":3,"verification_status":"confirmed","last_reviewed_at":"2026-05-15T19:33:43.363145+00:00","version":1,"evidence":[{"source_name":"SEC EDGAR","document_title":"DVN DEF 14A director slate","source_type":"sec_filing","source_tier":3,"source_url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1090012/000110465925037545/tm252204-6_def14a.htm","published_at":"2025-04-23T00:00:00+00:00","last_checked_at":"2026-05-15T19:33:43.241466+00:00","relation":"supports","excerpt_locator":null}]},{"subject":"alpha:person:john-e-bethancourt","claim_type":"board_service","claim_value":{"tags":[],"title":"Director","period":"Current · start date not disclosed","organization":"Devon Energy","organization_id":"devon-energy-corp-de"},"claim_text":"Director at Devon Energy (Current · start date not disclosed)","valid_from":null,"valid_to":null,"verification_status":"confirmed","date_precision":"undisclosed","evidence":[{"source_url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1090012/000110465925037545/tm252204-6_def14a.htm","label":"sec_filing","evidence_state":"verified"}],"claim_state":"confirmed","version":1}],"network":{"schema_version":"alpha-profile-network-public-v1","relationships":[],"relationship_pathfinding":false,"authentication_prompt":"Sign in to see how you're connected.","limitations":["Representative factual associations only.","Shared contexts do not assert personal acquaintance.","Anonymous graph traversal is not available."]},"permissions":{"classification":"open_public_projection","public_retrieval":true,"agent_retrieval":true,"redistribution":false,"model_training":false,"relationship_pathfinding":false,"direct_contact":false},"limitations":["Only permissioned public claims and evidence are included.","Absence of a claim is not evidence that the underlying fact is false.","Public retrieval does not grant model-training or redistribution rights.","Private relationships and Council activity are excluded."],"structured_data":{"@context":"https://schema.org","@type":"ProfilePage","@id":"https://registry.alpha.ac/people/john-e-bethancourt#profile","url":"https://registry.alpha.ac/people/john-e-bethancourt","dateModified":"2026-05-15T19:33:43.179+00:00","mainEntity":{"@type":"Person","@id":"https://registry.alpha.ac/people/john-e-bethancourt#person","name":"John E. Bethancourt","url":"https://registry.alpha.ac/people/john-e-bethancourt","jobTitle":"Director","worksFor":{"@type":"Organization","name":"Devon Energy","tickerSymbol":"NYSE: DVN"},"affiliation":[{"@type":"OrganizationRole","roleName":"Director","memberOf":{"@type":"Organization","name":"Devon Energy","url":"https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/devon-energy-corp-de","tickerSymbol":"NYSE: DVN"}}]},"isBasedOn":[{"@type":"CreativeWork","url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1090012/000110465925037545/tm252204-6_def14a.htm","name":"DVN DEF 14A director slate"}],"mainEntityOfPage":"https://registry.alpha.ac/people/john-e-bethancourt"},"trust":{"schema_version":"alpha-profile-trust-v1","verification":{"schema_version":"alpha-verification-states-v1","state":"corroborated","identity_ownership":"unclaimed","assurance_level":null,"claim_state_counts":{"source_reported":7,"corroborated":1,"alpha_verified":0,"disputed":0,"superseded":0},"derivation":"claim_states+identity_ownership","summary":"At least one published claim is corroborated by two or more public sources. Profile ownership is unclaimed."},"aggregation":{"schema_version":"alpha-claim-aggregation-v1","published_claim_count":8,"under_review_claim_count":0,"owner_supplied_claim_count":0,"evidence_record_count":4,"distinct_source_count":1,"conflicts":[],"conflict_count":0,"headline_conflict_count":0,"internal_review_conflict_count":0,"contradiction_types":[],"headline_conflict_types":[],"verification":{"schema_version":"alpha-verification-states-v1","state":"corroborated","identity_ownership":"unclaimed","assurance_level":null,"claim_state_counts":{"source_reported":7,"corroborated":1,"alpha_verified":0,"disputed":0,"superseded":0},"derivation":"claim_states+identity_ownership","summary":"At least one published claim is corroborated by two or more public sources. Profile ownership is unclaimed."},"coverage":{"schema_version":"alpha-coverage-metric-v1","published_claims":8,"corroborated_claims":1,"sources":4,"distinct_sources":1,"role_claims":1,"last_reviewed_at":"2026-05-15T19:33:43.179+00:00","observed_at":"2026-09-21T10:16:33.196778+00:00","freshness_days":129}},"rights":{"public_retrieval":"allowed","agent_retrieval":"allowed","redistribution":"not_granted","model_training":"not_granted","commercial_use":"not_specified","relationship_pathfinding":"not_granted","direct_contact":"not_granted"}},"projection":{"schema_version":"alpha-profile-projection-v5","entity":{"kind":"person","slug":"john-e-bethancourt","canonical_url":"https://registry.alpha.ac/people/john-e-bethancourt"},"publication":{"published_at":"2026-04-21T02:55:15.270549+00:00","last_reviewed_at":"2026-05-15T19:33:43.179+00:00","as_of":"2026-09-21T10:16:33.196778+00:00"},"representations":{"html":{"href":"https://registry.alpha.ac/people/john-e-bethancourt","media_type":"text/html"},"json":{"href":"https://registry.alpha.ac/api/public/profiles/john-e-bethancourt","media_type":"application/json"},"markdown":{"href":"https://registry.alpha.ac/people/john-e-bethancourt.md","media_type":"text/markdown"},"structured_data":{"embedded":true,"media_type":"application/ld+json"},"share_image":null},"permissions":{"public_retrieval":true,"agent_retrieval":true,"redistribution":false,"model_training":false,"relationship_pathfinding":false,"direct_contact":false}}}